One Month Later

A month ago tonight, I was still traumatized.

I had gone from being euphoric to being absolutely terrified. I had survived sliding off Route 460 in the beginning of a nasty snowstorm. I wasn’t hurt and my car didn’t have a scratch.

As I sit here on my futon in my warm, cozy apartment, I listen to the wind and rain outside as another cold front pushes through the 757.

Although I was stranded for a day and half and out around $315 for the tow and the hotel room, it could have been a whole lot worse.

I’m counting my blessings tonight.

I have a much greater respect for the weather and the power of a vehicle. I am far more cautious now when I plan any drive in my car. I always check the weather and plan accordingly. No drive or trip is worth my life.

All of this happened for a reason. I know, without a doubt, that God and my guardian angels were by my side on that cold, miserable Wednesday. And I will never forget it.

I’ve been impacted by this experience forever. I occasionally shudder at the memories of that day, but I keep putting it into perspective.

  1. I wasn’t physically hurt.
  2. I did not damage my car.
  3. I didn’t hit anyone else or cause injury.
  4. I had everything I needed for my hotel stay because of careful planning.
  5. I had the resources available to afford the tow and the room.
  6. I had loving, caring friends and family who supported me through the ordeal.

And for all of that, I’m grateful.

Until the next headline, Laura Beth 🙂

4 thoughts on “One Month Later

  1. Glad to hear you didn’t get hurt and are okay!

    • Thanks! It was certainly traumatic. I had driven up to Longwood for the day for the Student-Alumni Networking Event (S.A.N.E.) and didn’t leave early enough to beat the storm. Lesson learned – The hard way!

  2. Pingback: Hot Shot Headlines | Getting Personal #13: The Psalms, A Journal, and A Journey

  3. Pingback: Writing Prompt #9: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 3) | Hot Shot Headlines

Leave a Reply

