Writing Prompt #3: Confessions

I took this idea from a dear friend and sorority sister, Amy. Check out her blog!

Like Amy, I found this exercise to be therapeutic. It brought an incredible sense of relief and peace as I started to pour them out on paper.

Like Usher croons, these are my confessions:

1. I confess that I’m very content with my life right now. And I kind of feel guilty about it, knowing that so many people around struggle day-to-day. In spite of the guilt, I’m very much at peace, unlike my feelings a few months ago!

2. I confess that I feel like I’m not as supportive as a daughter, friend, and girlfriend as I should be. I’ve worked very hard to love myself and pay attention to me, and not everyone else all the time like I used to. However, I feel like that I’ve been selfish.

3.  I confess that my true passion is writing. If I could quit my job and write full-time for the money that I make now, I’d do it in a heartbeat. Heck, I’d do it for less money! I love writing on this blog and I would be over the moon if I’m able to publish at least one novel in my lifetime. For now, though, as I work and get through my paralegal degree, I resign myself to write as much as can and faithfully participate in National Novel Writing Month every year …

4. I confess that I relish, thrive, on alone time. I’m definitely an extrovert, no doubt about that. But after a while (several hours is starting to become my upper limit, but it truly depends on who I’m with), I need to close the door behind me and be able to breathe again. I secretly hate the fact that I don’t have an office at work, I just have a cube. I wish, just once a workday, that I could close a door!

5. I confess that, related to #4, I’m terrified that my alone time will simply disappear and never come back when Al and I get married. I was virtually by myself for 10 months in my apartment, and that was fantastic. Now I’ve been by myself in Mom and Dad’s house for a significant portion of the summer, and I don’t want to give it up!

6. I confess that I’m struggling to keep the momentum going to finish my paralegal degree. I know that I’m doing the right thing by going slowly and not overloading myself with full-time school, but it’s been immensely frustrating to see my credits add up little by little. I wish I was able to take a full load like I did at Longwood, but then I wouldn’t have the time or energy for other beautiful things in my life.

7. I confess that I’ve altered my Sunday morning routine, almost as quickly as I wrote the blog post about it. I went on a mission trip the week after I wrote that post, and it re-awakened my senses. In the span of a week and a half, I knew that I needed to go back to church. And since I have, my life has changed for the better.

8. I confess that I want to travel. I wish I could take an extended leave from my current life and just up and travel the world! I have been blessed to have been able to cross the Atlantic several times before the age of 25, but I don’t want to stop. I desperately want to see all 50 states, and visit all of the lighthouses in the U.S. at some point.


 

Happy Friday! I hope everyone has a great day and an awesome weekend!

Until the next headline, Laura Beth 🙂

Leave a Reply

