Getting Personal #4: Exploring Self-Love and Self-Esteem

“Life is our greatest possession and love its greatest affirmation.” ~Dr. Leo Buscaglia

Image Credit: www.wdyl.com

Image Credit: http://www.wdyl.com


Have you ever heard someone tell you, “I love him/her more than life itself?”

Have you said it yourself?

Making that declaration can be interpreted in several ways:

(a) You would do absolutely anything for this person.

(b) If need be, you’re not afraid to lay down your life for them, or rescue them, or do everything in your power to save their life.

(c) You’re more than willing to put them above yourself, every single day.

(d) You can’t imagine your life without them in it.

(e) All of the above.


I write this post with a heavy heart. I have several friends struggling right now with multiple issues, including love and self-esteem. There are so many days I wish I could be the one to just take their pain away, but I’m not Superwoman, nor will I ever be.

For now, I just love others in my life as best that I can. I listen, I ask questions, I’m there for them as much as possible. But mostly, I try to listen and let them tell me their story or stories. I want them to know that I am present, and more than happy to help them as much as I possibly can as Laura Beth is able to. I just try to be the best friend that I absolutely can be.


I personally believe that loving yourself as your own person is equal, if not more so, important to loving someone else. You are you, first and foremost. You need to appreciate yourself and work to understand yourself first. Your likes, dislikes, strengths, weaknesses, and so on.

But, that’s just me and my opinion.


I want to make this post a source of information as well. I like doing research, and spreading help and knowledge wherever I can.

Here’s Psychology Today’s take on self-love.

This is a fascinating step-by-step process on loving yourself.

Have questions about self-esteem? Look no further.

Here’s one more guide to self-esteem – Take a look.


As I said earlier, I’m here to listen. I certainly like writing and sharing information with you, but one of the greatest joys I have in life is visiting and talking with people. I wish that certain people in my life weren’t so far away, so I do my best to keep up via Facebook.

In 2015, I plan to get much better about writing more letters and dropping more cards in the mail over the course of the year. If you’re interested, give me your address! I love sending and receiving mail – It’s like Christmas when something other than a bill comes to my house!!


Until the next headline, Laura Beth 🙂

Leave a Reply

