Getting Personal #5: Tattoos (Part 2)

And now, for part 2!

I hope you enjoyed part 1 of my tattoos commentary this weekend.

Here’s more pictures and stories!


This is my sorority sister Caitlyn.

Facebook Credit: Caitlyn Newman

Facebook Credit: Caitlyn Newman

This is 1 Corinthians 13: 4-8, commonly known as the “love passage.” It is one of the most beautiful and intricate tattoos that I have ever seen! Caitlyn got this done at Liquid Metal Tattoo in West Point, Virginia.


This is another sorority sister of mine, Becky, who has this sweet bird.

Facebook Credit: Becky Hall

Facebook Credit: Becky Hall

She got this at Il Bacio in Farmville, Virginia.


This is a friend of mine from Longwood, Ashley.

Photo Credit: Ashley Bowles Jones

Photo Credit: Ashley Bowles Jones

Can you guess what it is?


This is Al’s brother’s girlfriend, Savy. She has this STUNNING tattoo of koi as a half-sleeve from her left shoulder down to her elbow.

Facebook Credit: Savy Beng

Facebook Credit: Savy Beng

Here’s Savy’s story, in her own words: “Koi have always been a traditional symbol of prevailing through struggle. Like salmon, they trek upstream regardless of obstacles to come home. With coming to America, the death of my dad, the death of my brother, childhood abuse, a failed marriage, and raising a Child by myself while working and school full time, I feel like I’ve prevailed through a lot.”


This is one of my friend Summer’s tattoos. I love the script and the butterfly 🙂

Facebook Credit: Summer Randels

Facebook Credit: Summer Randels

In her own words: “… I got “Strength” with a butterfly tattooed on my hip-ish when I was 15. I suffer from mental illness, and I struggle(d) with addiction—mine being cutting. I got strength tattooed right be where all my self harm scars are, and I got a butterfly for the butterfly project.”

Learn more about The Butterfly Project.

Facebook Credit: Summer Randels

Facebook Credit: Summer Randels

This is another tattoo on Summer. I love this story in particular. I first heard this over the summer, but she was so sweet to share it with me again for this post! Thanks, Summer!

“I got my birds because when I was 8 years old I randomly threw a tantrum (yes, it was random), so my mom told me to go to my room until I calmed down, and once I calmed down enough I could come back downstairs. Well I never went back downstairs because I never calmed down. My mom then came in my room to check on me and asked me what was wrong. I told her that I wanted to go home. I Clearly confused she told me that I was home, but I told her that I wasn’t home and that Illinois was my home (all of our family lives there). I then proceded to tell her that I wished I was a bird so I could fly back to Illinois. So, I got 8 birds tattooed on my shoulder for the 8 main people who have helped me get my wings to be able to fly. The first bird is for my selfless mom who has taught me how to lead and love. The second and third birds are for my grandparents who have provided me with both everything I needed and wanted (I guess you could say they spoil me.) The fourth bird is for Demi Lovato who gave me the courage to speak up. The fifth bird is for my old cheerleading coach, LeeAnna, who loved me and cared for me as if I was her own child. She was with me at my worst, and I will never be able to thank her enough for everything she has done for me. The sixth bird is for my 10th grade English teacher, Mrs. Schwartz, who inspires me on a daily basis. I look up to her in more ways than anyone will ever know. The seventh and eighth birds are for my youth directors (more like my second parents), Debi and Doug, have been there for me since I was itty-bitty, and who have helped me grow in my relationship with Christ.”

Facebook Credit: Summer Randels

Facebook Credit: Summer Randels

From Summer: “[This is] my mom’s cross. My mom was married 3 times, and after all the divorces she wanted to get that tattooed on her ring finger to symbolize that her love for Jesus and God will always be first.”


This is Amy, my good friend Ashley’s sister. I love the heartbeat and the script 🙂

Facebook Credit: Amy Hinman

Facebook Credit: Amy Hinman

In Amy’s own words: “I get so stressed out that I never take the time to just breathe and live in the moment. It’s a reminder to be in the moment always and just breathe.”


This is another Longwood friend, Brittany. She was my awesome Peer Mentor when I was a freshman 🙂 And now she’s in the NOAA Corps, and sometimes sees my dad more often than I do.

Facebook Credit: Brittany Anderson

Facebook Credit: Brittany Anderson

In Brittany’s own words: “The two swallows are for my nautical miles I’ve traveled (each equals 5,000 nm a piece). The red bird is on my right because red buoys are on your right when you return home to port. The coordinates are to where Eleanor was born.”


And, finally, Al’s cousin’s wife, Erin.

Photo coming soon!

In Erin’s own words: “So, in line with your tattoo post…I have a ‘tramp stamp’ of a tribal sun (got it on my 20th b-day in 2002–my Dad says it’s proof that 2002 was the year I ‘Lost My Damn Mind!!’) it’s nothing special…BUT…has the wicked cool distinction of being created by a LEGALLY BLIND tattoo artist. (Yeah, I let a blind lady permanently mark up my body.)”


Thank you again to EVERYONE who contributed! I loved seeing the photos and reading your stories!!

As for me, I have several ideas in mind already. Thanks to Justin, I definitely want to get some ink in the near future.

The following picture represents the idea for my first tattoo:

Photo Credit: tattoosx.net

Photo Credit: tattoosx.net

I don’t want to get it exactly like this, but this is the basic idea. I have loved ankle bracelets for the longest time, but I’ve always broken them somehow. The last really nice one got caught in the car door when I was coming home one night, and I haven’t worn one since then.

So, I want to get a permanent one. I want to have seven charms, and the bracelet.

1. A red heart, for love.

2. A depiction of the cross pendant that my parents gave me for high school graduation, for my faith.

3. An anchor, for Alpha Sigma Tau.

4. A daisy, for PEO.

5. The letters NYC in green, gold, and purple, for where I was born, purple for my survival from premature birth, and green and gold for the Green Bay Packers.

6. A butterfly, for their grace and beauty.

7. A sun, for my sunny disposition.


Along with the ankle bracelet, I have two other tattoos that I want to get.

I want to get a tattoo of a typewriter. I have been writing stories since I was 10. I have been fascinated with typewriters for many years. I love my dad’s Smith-Corona and I hope that I’m able to use it more. I want to own one at some point. Getting ink of it will remind me of writing and how much I love it.

The last idea I have (for now) is in honor of my dad. I have looked up to him my whole life. I shamelessly admit, I’m a total Daddy’s girl.

Anyway, he served in the Coast Guard for many years. He went to the Coast Guard Academy, and then did a combination of active duty and reserve service until he retired in the early 2000s.

So, this tattoo is a homage to that.

I want ink of the insignia, and then my dad’s name, rank, and years of service curving around it. I want to pay tribute to him, and I think this is a great way to do it.


Those three are the ones I want to start with. Any others that come along afterward, they will have as much meaning as these three do to me.

I’m not planning on getting all three at once, but with the New Year fast approaching, I’m considering getting the ankle bracelet one sooner rather than later 🙂

That’s all for now! I hope you enjoyed these two posts!!


Until the next headline, Laura Beth 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Getting Personal #5: Tattoos (Part 2)

  1. Tattoo ideas for men. Let’s talk tattoo ideas for men! Is it me, or having a tattoo is even more popular these days? hawaiian tattoo designs

    • I believe tattoos are very popular. A lot of my friends have them, and I would like to get my first one in 2017, to celebrate finishing my Paralegal Studies degree.

Leave a Reply

