Book Reviews #3, #4, and #5: The “Divergent” Trilogy

I was initially just intrigued by these three books. The first movie came out in March, but I definitely wanted to read the books first.

I was excited because the author, Veronica Roth, is literally MY AGE and a big inspiration to me, as a writer. If she can write a trilogy of books, and then some, AND sell the trilogy to a movie studio, then so can I!

But I finally started reading in July, when I went to North Carolina for a mission trip with my church.

I powered through Divergent on the drive down (Seven hours as a van co-pilot will do that), and bought Insurgent at a Walmart when we arrived. By the time I got back home a week later, I wanted to get through Allegiant as quickly as possible.

As of last night, at the end of December, I was only six chapters in.

But, today, I have finished!!


For me, I found myself comparing the Divergent trilogy to The Hunger Games trilogy. The three books are structured very similarly:

  • Divergent is building the characters and the story.
  • Insurgent is where the action kicks into high gear.
  • Allegiant is very political and picking up the pieces from the war/massive conflict in Insurgent.

Divergent

Image Credit: en.wikipedia.org

Image Credit: en.wikipedia.org

I liked Roth’s writing style. I enjoyed learning about the characters. Tris reminds me of me, in a way. Really easy read – I powered through this one in just a few hours.

4 out of 5 stars.


Insurgent

Image Credit: en.wikipedia.org

Image Credit: en.wikipedia.org

This is where the action was. I liked the plot lines and the development of the characters. I also liked how the story picked up from the last page of Divergent.

4 1/2 out of 5 stars.


Allegiant

Image Credit: en.wikipedia.org

Image Credit: en.wikipedia.org

This one … It was tough. It took me almost five whole months to get through it, mainly due to this thing called life. I was almost immediately turned off by the alternating points of view, back and forth and back and forth. As a writer, I completely understand Roth’s intentions, but as a reader, it just didn’t flow as well as I’d thought. It certainly wasn’t a bad ending, it was just tough to wade through.

3 1/2 out of 5 stars.


Just for kicks, here are some delightful Divergent memes!


Until the next headline, Laura Beth 🙂

11 thoughts on “Book Reviews #3, #4, and #5: The “Divergent” Trilogy

  1. I liked Divergent but by the end of Insurgent I was destroyed. IMHO I was horribly let down and a but peeved. The concept had such potential but didn’t live up to it for me. It may be because I’m a science person and the science behind the idea turned out to be flawed beyond reasonable suspension of belief. 😦

  2. Pingback: Book Review #12: “This Is Where It Ends” | Hot Shot Headlines

  3. Pingback: Tag #8: “Song to Book Tag” | Hot Shot Headlines

  4. Pingback: Tag #14: “Peculiar Children Book Tag” | Hot Shot Headlines

  5. Pingback: Book Reviews #22, #23, and #24: “The Hunger Games” Trilogy | Hot Shot Headlines

  6. Pingback: Tag #17: School Subjects Book Tag | Hot Shot Headlines

  7. Pingback: Tag #22: “How I Choose My Books” Tag – Hot Shot Headlines

  8. Pingback: Tag #25: The Taylor Swift Book Tag – Hot Shot Headlines

  9. Pingback: Tag #26: “Keep It Fresh Award / Book Tag” – Hot Shot Headlines

  10. Pingback: Awesome Authors #7: Veronica Roth – Hot Shot Headlines

Leave a Reply

