Getting Personal #13: The Psalms, A Journal, and A Journey

Image Credit: thebottomofabottle.wordpress.com

Image Credit: thebottomofabottle.wordpress.com

Image Credit: crossfireverses.wordpress.com

Image Credit: crossfireverses.wordpress.com

Image Credit: livingwords.in

Image Credit: livingwords.in

“What I see in the Bible, especially in the book of Psalms, which is a book of gratitude for the created world, is a recognition that all good things on Earth are God’s, every good gift is from above. They are good if we recognize where they came from and if we treat them the way the Designer intended them to be treated.” -Phillip Yancey


In my last Getting Personal post, I talked about how I planned to read all 150 Psalms in reverse order, ending with the morning of my wedding.

It’s been quite a journey so far. I wake up every morning excited to read the day’s Psalm, although sometimes I wait until I go to bed. It depends on the day. But I’ve been determined and diligent.

I’m so glad I decided to do this.


In addition to reading the Psalms every day, I have started a journal again. For those of you who know me, writing is a HUGE form of therapy for me.

I like writing down my thoughts whenever I get a chance. It’s very random, so I like to always write the full date and time. It makes for fun memories when I read back through the journals I’ve amassed over the years.

The other day, my journal came in handy when I had a cool story idea strike me on the way to Al’s after work. I wrote the immediate details on a legal pad when I first got to Al’s safely, but it was nice to transfer them into my journal later that night.

I’ve also started to fill this new journal with meaningful quotes, excerpts of the Psalms, and photos.

This particular journal is helping me through my journey with anxiety.


A few weeks ago, I dug up an old email from my boss. He had sent it to me after I had returned to the office after my car slid off snowy U.S. 460. It was about employee assistance with counseling.

I took the first step and called the number in the email on a Tuesday afternoon. I felt so much better after that one call. One phone call can truly make a difference.

After that first call, they set me up with a local counseling center, about 15 minutes from my office.

My first appointment is this coming week, on July 8th. I’m looking forward to this. I’m excited to take bigger steps in this journey. I know I will go into that office with my head held high, not ashamed of where I’ve coming from, nor ashamed of what I’m doing or where I’m going.

Anxiety is often misunderstood, more often than a lot of people may think. I myself was one of those people a few years ago, with a pen pal of mine. But now that I’m dealing with it myself, it’s been eye-opening. There are so many who struggle with it. It manifests itself in so many different forms.

I’ve known several people who take medication for it, to control it, and they lead amazingly normal, happy lives.

As I was pondering my journey so far, earlier this week, I stumbled upon an article titled “How I Stay Happily Married To A Man With Anxiety.”

It was an amazing read. It struck so many chords with me.


On this long holiday weekend, I’m grateful to be an American. I am an American who is currently struggling with anxiety, but I’m excited to be on this journey. I have the Psalms, my journal, such an amazing support system, and inspiring words to look at, to make every day a little less anxious for me.

I look forward to getting better, and becoming a better Laura Beth.


Until the next headline, Laura Beth 🙂

One thought on “Getting Personal #13: The Psalms, A Journal, and A Journey

  1. Pingback: Hot Shot Headlines | Getting Personal #14: Words

Leave a Reply

