Writing Prompt #9: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 3)

Writing - quotesgram

Image Credit: quotesgram.com

Here’s the list!

  1. List 10 things that make you happy
  2. Write something that someone told you about yourself that you never forgot
  3. What are your top 3 pet peeves
  4. Write about someone who inspires you
  5. List 5 places you want to visit
  6. 5 wins to your heart
  7. List 10 songs you’re loving right now
  8. Something you struggle with
  9. Post some words of wisdom that speak to you
  10. Write about something for which you feel strongly
  11. Something you always think “what if…” about
  12. Write about 5 blessings in your life
  13. What are you excited about
  14. Post your favorite movies that you never get tired of watching
  15. Bullet-point your whole day
  16. Something that you miss
  17. Post about your zodiac sign, and whether or not it fits you
  18. Post 30 facts about yourself
  19. Discuss your first love
  20. Post about three celebrity crushes
  21. What are 3 lessons you want your children to learn from you
  22. Put your music on shuffle and post the first 10 songs
  23. A letter to someone, anyone
  24. What about a lesson you’ve learned the hard way
  25. Think of any word. Search it on Google images. Write something inspired by the 11th image
  26. Write about an area in your life you’d like to improve
  27. Conversely, write about something that’s kicking ass right now
  28. Post 5 things that make you laugh-out-loud
  29. What are your goals for the next 30 days
  30. Your highs and lows for the month

What are your top 3 pet peeves?

  1. Spelling and grammar errors. I’m not perfect, but I’m one of those people who will do my absolute best to keep my written communications as error-free as possible. This is what happens when you grow up enjoying English class, actually liking spelling tests, working on a newspaper for your university for eight semesters, and minoring in Rhetoric and Professional Writing, among other things. I’m also one of those people who spells out every single word in text messages!
  2. Lots of things about driving – Distracted drivers, tailgaters, people not using their turn signals, etc. Full disclosure: I am a reformed tailgater. My ex-boyfriend John was a very aggressive driver, and I picked up a lot of his bad habits. In December 2010, I rear-ended an SUV, five minutes from my house. There wasn’t a scratch on her SUV, but I did $4,000 in damage to my Camry. That sobered me up real quick. Then, I wrote a post about my car sliding off Route 460 in terrible snowy weather in 2014 – You better believe I’m never doing that again! In essence, I try to treat my car very carefully, and I wish other drivers would do the same. But, I shrug my shoulders, do my best to keep at least a car length in front of me at all times, and attempt to drive defensively.
  3. Beating around the bush. I really appreciate it when people don’t dance around an issue or telling me if they have a problem with me. Brutal honesty is, well, brutal – But it’s BETTER. Again, full disclosure, I always feel guilty when I’m put in this position. It’s awkward, uncomfortable, and sweat-inducing. However, for me, it’s better to tell me what’s wrong, or whatever it is, from the get-go.

Until the next headline, Laura Beth 🙂

40 thoughts on “Writing Prompt #9: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 3)

  1. Pingback: Writing Prompt #10: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 4) | Hot Shot Headlines

  2. Holy cow!! It’s scary how much we have in common sometimes! I could have written this myself, word for word. Except the 2nd pet peeve would have been much angrier.

    Although we’re all guilty of bad driving habits from time to time, tailgaters & distracted drivers (which I’ll own up to being both of at different times – complete honesty, imo, should be applied to ourselves as well) are asking for trouble. People who text & drive deserve those cell phones shoved up their behinds if they’re so attached to ’em that they can’t put them down while driving.

    Another driving habit that I cannot stand is when people don’t stop at stop signs. It happens so much around where I live that I slow down if I see someone approaching a stop sign, even when I don’t have a sign or anything.

    See? Reading about the pet peeves we share even gets me riled up! LOL

    • Haha! I love it! Yes, texting and driving is terrifying. I’ve started to be able to tell when someone is texting, and I get as far away from them as possible. There have been a few times where someone is texting behind me and almost doesn’t stop in time. A friend of mine was rear-ended last winter – She was stopped in traffic on the interstate and this guy behind her was texting and slammed into her car at 60 miles per hour. It’s a miracle she walked away from the crash – Her car looked like an accordion.

      I hadn’t thought about stop signs, but it makes sense. I remember getting dinged for that in driver’s ed – The instructor had his own brake on the passenger side and would always use it with me and stop signs. I had to come to a complete stop – No rolling, nothing. It was annoying – It felt like whiplash every time – but I learned!

      • I know a lot of people around here text & drive (even one of my old h.s. friends!! I’m so disappointed in her!!), but I haven’t been able to tell when they’re doing it. Any tips for me?

        Dear Lord!! Was your friend OK? I’m glad she was able to walk away from the accident. Still, “walking away” & “being OK” are two totally different things.

        I took my driving test in a driving school’s car. I don’t think it had a brake or anything on the passenger side. Then again, I took my test on a “closed course,” where there wasn’t any traffic other than the individual being tested. It wasn’t, like, on a real street. LOL

        But, I pride myself on trying to be observant on the road. Where I live, there are a ton of people & a ton of cars… & a ton of people approaching stop signs at a speed that tells me, immediately, “this person doesn’t plan on stopping unless they SLAM on their brakes.” It’s terrifying, honestly.

      • Tips for telling your friend who texts: Tell her that you care about her, and that you don’t want her to put her life at risk because of one text! For me, I observed a few friends doing it while I was a passenger, and I straight up told them that I didn’t want to ride with them anymore because of their texting!

        Sarah is doing well, for the most part. Unfortunately, because of the hard hit, she likely suffered a concussion and whiplash. She also stutters, and her stutter has not really improved since the accident, despite continued therapy. It’s amazing she walked away – Her car was completely totaled. The only thing truly salvageable was her license plates.

        My driver’s ed program had a mix of school parking lot and then real road – Interstate and all!

        It is terrifying. I’m glad that there are some safe drivers in this world, who actually care!

      • Unfortunately, I’ve tried telling her that. She picked one of our mutual friends up from the hospital after a serious accident (someone didn’t stop at a stop sign & T-boned her 😥 ) & was texting the whole drive home. Our friend told her, during the ride, that it was scaring & upsetting her & she still refused to stop. I think it might be a lost cause. 😦

        I was wondering if you have any tips for spotting other drivers who might be texting? I’m like you – I want to be as far away from them as possible.

        I’m glad Sarah is doing as well as we can expect. It must have really affected her though. :-/

        Oh! I misread what you said before! My driver’s ed classes (we hired a teacher because my school didn’t teach it & my Dad wouldn’t be a good driving instructor) were almost all “on the real road.” It was my driver’s test that was on a “closed course.” My instructor took me on 287 my first day driving… after I refused to go to 22 like he wanted me to (22 is nicknamed “death highway” for a reason). It was super scary, especially since he didn’t have a brake or steering wheel on his side of the car!!

        You & I care… I’m not sure how many other drivers do. It seems like none of them do sometimes!!

      • I’m sorry to hear that. If I were you, I wouldn’t ride with her anymore, and I would tell your friends to do the same. No text is worth someone’s life!

        For me, I can tell if the driver is going slower than the posted speed limit, or if they start to drift in another lane, and then realizes what they’ve done and goes back into their lane with a sudden jerk. It’s terrifying. I move as far away as possible!

        I’m sure Sarah was traumatized for a while. Luckily, she has a wonderful friend base that responded immediately. I live about 90 minutes from her, I want to get together with her soon.

        I understand. Sorry if I confused you! My dad essentially taught me to drive – It was almost too stressful with my mom! My driver’s ed teacher was the school wrestling coach – He was awesome!

        I totally agree! I’m grateful that my husband is a very safe driver as well!

      • I don’t ride with her really. Our mutual friend & she had a falling out, so she doesn’t ride with her anymore either. It’s just very frustrating. I think that she – & many other texters on the road – thinks that she’s such a great driver & it doesn’t affect her driving as much as it does other people.

        I think those are good tips that you should stay away from someone on the road regardless of whether or not they’re texting!! I see that “drift & jerk” a lot on the road, & people doing way under the speed limit on the highways too. :-/

        It’s great that Sarah has people around her to help out. When did the accident happen? Have you seen her since it happened?

        No need to apologize!! I’m easily confused. LOL My Dad tried to teach my sister to drive for about 30 seconds. His temperament at the time meant he was not suited to it. He started screaming at her (no excuse for his behavior, but she did make a big mistake) & hired a professional teacher.

        That’s fantastic. I think, when I think about my “standards” for a potential partner, safe driver definitely has to be on there.

      • Argh. I hate people like that. Oh well! Not my circus, not my monkeys!

        Sarah’s accident happened last December. I haven’t seen her in over a year in person. She calls my phone and leaves voicemails to practice her speech, but that hasn’t happened in a while. I need to message her on Facebook.

        Sometimes, a professional is the only way to go!

        Oh yes. It was something my mom asked about almost immediately. She knew from the get-go that he had a red Mustang, so that made her nervous. But, on our first date, he came to pick me up and talked with my parents for a while. They knew then that I was going to be safe.

      • I try not to say “hate,” if I can help it. I think that gives too much power & energy to the person/place/thing that I dislike. Still, “dislike” sometimes simply isn’t strong enough. :-/

        So? Have you messaged Sarah yet? I would be more than happy to keep nagging you until you do. I’m quite good at it! 😉

        I always wonder if the “male drivers + red + sports car = pulled over more often” theory is true. If so, that would have definitely encouraged him to drive a lot more carefully. Regardless of the reason why he’s a safe driver, I’m very happy that he is one. 🙂

      • I understand!

        I did message her – I’m waiting to hear back from her now.

        I’m almost 100 percent certain that Al has never been pulled over. Neither have I, actually!

      • I’m so glad that you messaged Sarah. I hope she’s doing well & you can go see her soon. I’m sure she misses you.

        That’s impressive!! I’ve been pulled over twice: once for a burned-out tail light, & once for pulling into the parking lot of a closed-for-the-night gas station, pausing, then pulling out & making two (legal) U-turns on the highway. The cop’s reason for the latter: looking suspicious. I’ve also had two parking tickets & one red-light ticket. I’m such a rebel. LOL

      • Good times!

  3. Pingback: Writing Prompt #11: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 5) | Hot Shot Headlines

  4. Pingback: Writing Prompt #12: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 6) | Hot Shot Headlines

  5. Pingback: Writing Prompt #13: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 7) | Hot Shot Headlines

  6. Pingback: Writing Prompt #14: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 8) | Hot Shot Headlines

  7. Pingback: Writing Prompt #15: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 9) | Hot Shot Headlines

  8. Pingback: Writing Prompt #16: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 10) | Hot Shot Headlines

  9. Pingback: Writing Prompt #17: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 11) | Hot Shot Headlines

  10. Pingback: Writing Prompt #18: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 12) | Hot Shot Headlines

  11. Pingback: Writing Prompt #19: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 13) | Hot Shot Headlines

  12. Pingback: Writing Prompt #20: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 14) | Hot Shot Headlines

  13. Pingback: Writing Prompt #21: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 15) | Hot Shot Headlines

  14. Pingback: Writing Prompt #22: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 16) | Hot Shot Headlines

  15. Pingback: Writing Prompt #23: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 17) | Hot Shot Headlines

  16. Pingback: Writing Prompt #24: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 18) | Hot Shot Headlines

  17. Pingback: Writing Prompt #25: “3o Day Writing Challenge” (Day 19) | Hot Shot Headlines

  18. Pingback: Writing Prompt #25: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 19) | Hot Shot Headlines

  19. Pingback: Writing Prompt #26: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 20) | Hot Shot Headlines

  20. Pingback: Writing Prompt #27: “30 Day Challenge” (Day 21) | Hot Shot Headlines

  21. Pingback: Writing Prompt #28: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 22) | Hot Shot Headlines

  22. Pingback: Writing Prompt #29: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 23) | Hot Shot Headlines

  23. Pingback: Writing Prompt #30: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 24) | Hot Shot Headlines

  24. Pingback: Writing Prompt #31: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 25) | Hot Shot Headlines

  25. Pingback: Writing Prompt #32: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 26) | Hot Shot Headlines

  26. Pingback: Writing Prompt #33: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 27) | Hot Shot Headlines

  27. Pingback: Writing Prompt #34: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 28) | Hot Shot Headlines

  28. Pingback: Writing Prompt #35: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 29) | Hot Shot Headlines

  29. Pingback: Writing Prompt #36: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 30) | Hot Shot Headlines

Leave a Reply

