Commentary #40: Thoughts on “Girl Meets World”

girl-meets-world-quotesgram

Image Credit: quotesgram.com

I didn’t watch Boy Meets World growing up, but I watched a good chunk of it in syndication in college (Yay, ABC Family!)

boy-meets-world-pinterest

Image Credit: pinterest.com

Then, Disney announced that they were producing a sequel – Girl Meets World.

girl-meets-world-disney-wikia

Image Credit: disney.wikia.com

Well, it’s safe to say that I’m hooked.

We’ve already blown through the first two seasons on Netflix! I can’t wait until they get a hold of season 3!!


I love that Disney basically picked up right where Boy Meets World left off, and then proceeded to update it for today’s kids and parents.

At the same time, it’s a bit surreal to think that the kids who watched Boy Meets World are now adults and probably have kids of their own now, just like the characters Cory, Topanga, Eric, and Shawn.

COREY FOGELMANIS, PEYTON MEYER, SABRINA CARPENTER, ROWAN BLANCHARD, BEN SAVAGE, AUGUST MATURO, DANIELLE FISHEL

GIRL MEETS WORLD – Disney Channel’s “Girl Meets World” stars Corey Fogelmanis as Farkle Minkus, Peyton Meyer as Lucas Friar, Sabrina Carpenter as Maya Hart, Rowan Blanchard as Riley Matthews, Ben Savage as Cory Matthews, August Maturo as Auggie Matthews and Danielle Fishel as Topanga Matthews. (Disney Channel/Edward Herrera) Image Credit: thewrap.com

I love that the show is mostly centered around the kids – Just like Boy Meets World was, back in the day. It certainly involves the adult characters, but the show is a decent role model for today’s kids. For me, I’ve seen many lessons about independence, friendship, moving, responsibility, choices, talent, and growing up, among other things.

It shows the struggles of middle school, mixed in with struggles of the adult world – Teaching, funding, helping others, making difficult decisions, supporting your family.

Now that I’m on pins and needles waiting for season 3, I want to go back and revisit Boy Meets World as a whole. There are some awesome flashbacks featured in Girl Meets World, and seeing those little snippets makes me even more nostalgic!


Overall, I think Disney’s done a good job with keeping a lot of the old elements, but also updating them for the new generations. Although it’s clearly designed for a younger audience, as a 28-year-old, I appreciate the show based on the nostalgia factor, the variety of social issues that are covered, and the feel-good atmosphere that surrounds the show as a whole. I’m happy that they’ve included a lot of the characters from the original show, as well as balanced those characters with new, fresh ones.

For me, this is similar to the feelings I felt when Netflix created Fuller House, but this experience is on a slightly different scale. I’m happy that Disney took this idea, knowing that they were taking a big risk with all of the Boy Meets World fans, and ran with it.

From what I’ve seen, it’s been a big success, so far.


What are your thoughts?

Did you watch Boy Meets World?

Have you watched Girl Meets World?

Let me know what you think!


Until the next headline, Laura Beth 🙂

6 thoughts on “Commentary #40: Thoughts on “Girl Meets World”

  1. I watched Boy Meets World and immediately gravitated to Girl Meets World. My kids really liked the concept of a sequel to something that I grew up watching and were fascinated to hear me tell stories of the original show. It’s a bit nostalgic. So what if I lose man points! 😂

  2. Looooved BMW. Haven’t watched GMW yet, though.

  3. I love both of these shows! I grew up watching Boy Meets World. It was the highlight of my Friday night sleepovers when we would watch TGIF! It’s so nostalgic for me, and I own a few seasons of it on DVD. I adore Girl Meets World. They stayed true to the original show, and I love that!

Leave a Reply

