Writing Prompt #29: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 23)

1806e6bff7047ece0d4f3e8418a7da5f

Image Credit: pinterest.com

Here’s the list!

  1. List 10 things that make you happy
  2. Write something that someone told you about yourself that you never forgot
  3. What are your top 3 pet peeves
  4. Write about someone who inspires you
  5. List 5 places you want to visit
  6. 5 wins to your heart
  7. List 10 songs you’re loving right now
  8. Something you struggle with
  9. Post some words of wisdom that speak to you
  10. Write about something for which you feel strongly
  11. Something you always think “what if…” about
  12. Write about 5 blessings in your life
  13. What are you excited about
  14. Post your favorite movies that you never get tired of watching
  15. Bullet-point your whole day
  16. Something that you miss
  17. Post about your zodiac sign, and whether or not it fits you
  18. Post 30 facts about yourself
  19. Discuss your first love
  20. Post about three celebrity crushes
  21. What are 3 lessons you want your children to learn from you
  22. Put your music on shuffle and post the first 10 songs
  23. A letter to someone, anyone
  24. What about a lesson you’ve learned the hard way
  25. Think of any word. Search it on Google images. Write something inspired by the 11th image
  26. Write about an area in your life you’d like to improve
  27. Conversely, write about something that’s kicking ass right now
  28. Post 5 things that make you laugh-out-loud
  29. What are your goals for the next 30 days
  30. Your highs and lows for the month

A letter to someone, anyone

Dear Grandma Betty,

It’s hard to believe it’s been over five years now since you died. I have so many wonderful memories of you.

I loved traveling to Florida to visit you and Grandpa. I don’t have many memories of your house on Rosetree, but I still remember the day that you moved to Woodbridge Condos. I always got excited when we turned off the main road and saw the fountains and gorgeous trees that surround the neighborhood. I love that Grandpa still lives there. I memorized your address very quickly, with the weekly letters, birthday cards, and holiday wishes.

I will always remember the amazing Easter egg hunts that you managed to dream up in the condo for Ryan, Missy, and I. I was shock the year that I discovered the turquoise hair dryer as my big Easter gift – You always wanted us to be fashionable and well-groomed! It lasted for well over 10 years, by the way. I was sad when it finally died.

You were a whiz at Scrabble, and you taught me how to play Up Words. I always smile when I open the closet to see the paper height chart with the giraffe, and all three of our names on it.

You taught me many lessons in the 23 years that I knew you. You showed me your love of travel, especially cruises.You and Grandpa were married for 51 years. You raised three amazing children – My dad and my two awesome aunts. You helped spread the legacy of P.E.O. in our family, and I hope to have daughters that become sisters, or sons that marry sisters.

There is one lesson, though, that will stay with me forever – I never want to smoke. That’s one of the main memories I have of the house on Rosetree – Seeing you smoke your cigarette on the screened-in porch. At the age of 5, I remember steadfastly refusing to go out on the porch to hug you while you were smoking, even though we had just arrived at the house from Virginia. My mom was upset, but I didn’t want to.

I was happy that you quit smoking a few years after that, but then I grew up listening to you cough and struggle to breathe. Hearing the whir and hum of the nebulizer every night, then adjusting to the oxygen concentrator in the guest bedroom. Seeing your nasal cannula in all of our family pictures. I knew that you needed it to breathe, since I needed one for my first year of life.

As I got older, I learned that, for you, it had been the thing to smoke as a teenager. You started when you were 15, and you smoked for nearly 50 years. It took me years to understand that.

In a way, I’m grateful. I’ve never had a desire to smoke anything. The smell alone makes me gag. And it makes me think of you. All those memories come back.

I’m happy that you didn’t suffer worse – That you didn’t suffer from cancer or any disfigurement or multiple surgeries on your lungs or throat.

Thank you for teaching me many lessons. I know you’re breathing easier above us.


Until the next headline, Laura Beth 🙂

11 thoughts on “Writing Prompt #29: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 23)

  1. Pingback: Writing Prompt #30: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 24) | Hot Shot Headlines

  2. Pingback: Writing Prompt #31: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 25) | Hot Shot Headlines

  3. Pingback: Writing Prompt #32: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 26) | Hot Shot Headlines

  4. Pingback: Writing Prompt #33: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 27) | Hot Shot Headlines

  5. Pingback: Writing Prompt #34: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 28) | Hot Shot Headlines

  6. Pingback: Writing Prompt #35: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 29) | Hot Shot Headlines

  7. Pingback: Writing Prompt #36: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 30) | Hot Shot Headlines

Leave a Reply

