Writing Prompt #32: “30 Day Writing Challenge” (Day 26)

quotes-writing-role-anais-nin-480x480

Image Credit: quotesgram.com

Here’s the list!

  1. List 10 things that make you happy
  2. Write something that someone told you about yourself that you never forgot
  3. What are your top 3 pet peeves
  4. Write about someone who inspires you
  5. List 5 places you want to visit
  6. 5 wins to your heart
  7. List 10 songs you’re loving right now
  8. Something you struggle with
  9. Post some words of wisdom that speak to you
  10. Write about something for which you feel strongly
  11. Something you always think “what if…” about
  12. Write about 5 blessings in your life
  13. What are you excited about
  14. Post your favorite movies that you never get tired of watching
  15. Bullet-point your whole day
  16. Something that you miss
  17. Post about your zodiac sign, and whether or not it fits you
  18. Post 30 facts about yourself
  19. Discuss your first love
  20. Post about three celebrity crushes
  21. What are 3 lessons you want your children to learn from you
  22. Put your music on shuffle and post the first 10 songs
  23. A letter to someone, anyone
  24. What about a lesson you’ve learned the hard way
  25. Think of any word. Search it on Google images. Write something inspired by the 11th image.
  26. Write about an area in your life you’d like to improve
  27. Conversely, write about something that’s kicking ass right now
  28. Post 5 things that make you laugh-out-loud
  29. What are your goals for the next 30 days
  30. Your highs and lows for the month

Write about an area in your life you’d like to improve

I’d love to not procrastinate as much. I don’t necessarily put things off until the last minute, but I’m known to drag my feet and find excuses to avoid certain things (Homework, cleaning, mundane tasks).

However, I try to remedy this with motivating myself. I use a reward system. For example: If I work on my homework for an hour straight, without any distractions, then I can play a game on my phone or iPad for 15 minutes.

I also do this with my job. Some of the work I do is incredibly dry, boring, and annoying. But, I try to use the same reward system: If I finish a task early, or make a certain number of phone calls, or work on a project for a certain length of time, I reward myself with getting up from my desk to walk around, stretch my legs, and play a game for five minutes. It’s a good refresher moment.

It really works!

Tonight, I was struggling to get motivated to do my homework. But, with Al holding me accountable, I completed Chapter 4 AND Chapter 5 in less than an hour! I rewarded myself with finishing this blog post and spending a few minutes on Facebook, plus finishing the task in time to watch the new episode of The Big Bang Theory!

Granted, my reward system doesn’t always work. But, I try to put a positive spin on the boring and mundane areas and try to banish procrastination as much as possible.


Until the next headline, Laura Beth 🙂